New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Law Set to Take Effect
On October 29, the state of New Jersey will usher in a new mandate requiring most employers across the state to provide paid sick days to employees. Gov. Phil Murphy signed the act into law on May 2, making New Jersey the tenth state to implement mandatory paid sick leave. With the law taking effect in just a few days, here’s what you need to know to be prepared.
What to Know
The New Jersey law allows workers to earn one hour of leave for every 30 hours worked. These accruals are capped at 40 hours per year. Officials in Trenton say this is the broadest and strongest sick leave requirement in the country, covering almost every individual employed in the Garden State with very few exceptions. The law applies to both part-time and full-time employees. For more a more detailed breakdown of the law’s provisions, you can refer to the state’s wage and hour laws and regulations website.
Impact on HR
Whether or not you’re a New Jersey resident, this law has broader implications for the field of HR. As more states continue to adopt comprehensive paid leave legislation, it may be time to assess your company’s provisions and make sure they align with the direction states and cities are moving in. Sooner or later your state might face it’s own paid leave laws, so it’s best to stay ahead of the trend. Subscribe to Namely’s newsletter for a weekly digest of important compliance changes, HR best practices, and more.
See how Namely's flexible solution will help you streamline your HR processes by having your people, payroll, and benefits info all in on place.Get a demo
You May Also Like
Get the latest news from Namely about HR, Payroll, and Benefits.
Thanks for subscribing!