Lawmakers in the Golden State are deliberating a measure that would increase the state’s minimum salary for overtime exemption. If the law passes, California would join New York as the second state this year to update its overtime rules.
Sponsored by Assemblymember Tony Thurmond, A.B. 1565 proposes raising the state’s minimum salary for overtime exemption from $43,680 to $47,476. The latter number may look familiar to eagle-eyed HR professionals, as it is the same increase the Department of Labor (DOL) targeted nationally last year.
The legislation currently sits with California’s Committee on Labor and Employment, where it will undergo a preliminary review this week before heading to the state assembly for a vote. If approved, it would become effective on January 1, 2018. Governor Jerry Brown has not yet opined publicly on the proposal.
Andy Przystanski is Content Marketing Manager at Namely, the all-in-one HR, payroll, and benefits platform built for today's employees. Connect with Andy and the Namely team on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.
Get the latest news from Namely about HR, payroll, and benefits.
We send out emails once a week with the latest from the Namely Blog, HR News, and other industry happenings. Expect to see that in your inbox soon!